It’s MY turn!

Okay, I know I write this blog and everything, but really, readers, this is your blog. Really, it’s all about you. Yes, it is. Don’t argue with me. I’ve been talking and typing to share this info with you guys; If I wanted it for me, hell, I have my own mind to store the info I find!

But now, it’s my turn. I’ve been going through a rough patch, naming wise. I’m having second thoughts about some names, I’m adding names that leap up the lists, and I’m seriously confused. (More so than usual!) Recently, I’ve been having inner duals between Caroline and Coraline, Lydia is nearing the top of the charts, Josephine has been stirred into the mix, Beatrix is squeezing her way into the combos, Isadora is slipping a bit, I’m reconsidering Evangeline, Susanna is being moved into the middle slot, I’m reconsidering double middle names, and Eloise has entered the fray of middle names, to name a few.

As for my boys, my top two (James Daniel and Archer Leonard) are still the best for me, but after that, I blank. I’m not sure what the fudge to do. Sure, there are plenty of names I like, Harrison, Declan, Ciaran, Bennett, Harper, Stellan… But none of those really spark, really show me I could use them, like Archer and James do for me.

I don’t know what I need, whether it’s a break, naming rehab, or just a stronger dosage of medication (or perhaps a combination), but I’m truly at a loss. I’m grasping at straws. I used to be able to play Baby Name Games where you had to name 10 children, and I’d struggle to decide whether Mitchell or Levi would be my last kid, ’cause I loved both of them; or whether I should use Margaret and Denise for middle names, or Leah and Angela. But now? Now, I have four blanks left (mainly for my boys), and I constantly think, I would seriously only use three or four of these names on real kids of mine.

I’ve also been toying with the idea of bringing back my double middle names, but with a twist: The first time around, I used both middle names as opportunities to use family names. This time, I’ve been considering using the first middle name as a name I like so much I don’t want to give it up, and the second middle saved for family names. (So instead of Caroline Anita Margaret, I’d use Lydia Caroline Anita.)

So let’s have an inverted blog, just for this post. I want you guys to give me information. Whether that’s just your favorite name at the moment, how you’ve revamped your lists, or how you deal when you baby naming mind is swamped, tell me. If anyone has some tips for this type of rehabilitation, I’d be more than willing to hear them. Toodle pip!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charlottevera
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 18:00:53

    Well, since I named my own daughter Roseanna Ruth Adeline, I am obviously a fan of the double middle name. In my situation, Roseanna was one of the few names that my husband and I could both agree on (it was his late mother’s name), Ruth was a close friend growing up, and Adeline was just a name that I liked. Once husbands come into the mix the whole naming thing becomes more complicated. Thankfully, Mark didn’t mind if he wasn’t involved in selecting Roseanna’s middle names, so I got my way in that.

    All that’s basically to say that I like your idea of having a selection of double middle names that include tributes to family and personal favourites.

    Reply

  2. Mookie
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 18:33:08

    Thank you! I absolutely LOVE your daughter’s name! Roseanna Ruth Adeline is lovely.

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Aug 16, 2009 @ 02:31:08

    My naming style has changed immensly. I used to love such names as Saffron, Sienna and September but now I’m tending to like more refined and feminine names such as Ophelia, Valencia, Ayelet, Iolanthe and Aurelia. That type of girls name. Boys names I’m loving Artemis and August as well as Leif. i just keep changing my top names!

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 11:12:19

    I have a long list of boy names that I like, but can’t seem to figure out which on I really LOVE. Any ideas to help with the elimination process?

    Reply

    • Mookie
      Sep 30, 2009 @ 15:56:03

      Sure! There are some basic questions you can use to shorten your list a little:
      • If there’s a set middle name, or a middle name in mind, does this first name go with it? Does the style of the middle name clash with the first name? How’s the flow?
      • Does it sound bad with your last name? Is it alliterative, and is that a good or a bad thing for you? Do they end in the same sound, and again, is that good or bad?
      • How long have the names on your list been around? Are there some that have been on there a long, long time, that you might be getting a little tired of? Are there some that are tried and true, that pretty much fit all your criterion? Are some so brand-new they might just be name crushes? Sometimes we name nerds see a new name, just gush over it, and immediately add it to our list. Then, two weeks later, we’re done with it. Which names can you see sticking around?
      • Go through each name on the list, and focus on it. Can you really, honestly picture a future child of yours wearing the name?
      • Does it honor a friend, family member, loved one, or someone you look up to? Lots of names we love that have a special connection tend to stay on our lists because we still love that person, and still want to honor them. For instance, the name James Daniel is the #1 name on my list, in honor of my two brothers. That name will probably never leave my list, because I’ll always love and have a need to honor my brothers. I also have the name Nikolai on my list, in honor of one of my favorite cousins, and one of my best friends, Nicholas. The variant form of Nicholas might change, but a name honoring him will also probably never leave my list.

      If you’d like to share your list with me, whether by email or comment, I’d be happy to help further and offer my opinions. If you’d also like some opinions from other name nerds, you can check out bigbadbabynames.net, set up an account if you aren’t already a member, and post your list in Advice there for feedback. Many of the girls there (and guys, too) are great baby namers, if I do say so myself, and would be happy to help you out.

      Reply

  5. Sarah
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 21:01:28

    Excellent tips, thanks!

    Reply

  6. Bree
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 14:00:44

    Hi. I just found your blog and I’m really liking it so far! My top girls name at the moment is Jane Magnolia. Jane for Jane Austen and Jane Bennet and Magnolia because I used to sit under a big magnolia tree as a child with my kitty. I love using names that have a meaning to me. I can’t ever get fully behind a name inless there is some meaning. I hope your naming goes better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

