I’m sorry, but you sound like a dog.

I’d like to start off with a kudos and congratulations to actress Mira Sorvino and hubby Christopher Backus on the birth of their wonderfully-named baby boy: Holden Paul Terry Backus! Don’t know Mira? Maybe not her name, but you’ll remember her: She starred in Mighty Aphrodite as Linda Ash (1995), Romy & Michele’s High School Reunion as Romy White (1997), The Great Gatsby as Daisy Buchanan (2000), and guest starred in a 2008 episode of House (“Frozen”) as Dr. Cate Milton. Now you probably remember her. She had a long, complicated pregnancy, but now it’s reported that mother and son are just fine. Holden joins fellow wonderfully-named sister Mattea Angel (born 2004) and brother John “Johnny” Christopher King (born 2006). Congrats for the birth, kudos on the names!

And now, onto the post that goes along with the eyebrow-raising title. This post is based on names commonly used on babies, but sound (to me, at least) like they belong on a Cocker Spaniel.

***Note: Some of these names are nicknames. Some of these nicknames sound perfectly human when used in their longer form, but these nicknames, to me, sound canine-inspired. Also, no offense to anyone who likes/has/knows anyone with a name listed here.***

The Bitches: (No, I’m not being derogatory.)
• Coco
• Daisy
• Dixie
• Lily (I’m just so sick and tired of hearing this name on little girls, it’s a breath of fresh air to hear it on a dog.)
• Lottie
• Maisie
• Molly
• Maggie
• Piper
• Poppy
• Posey
• Sadie
• Sasha

The Studs:
• Bruce
• Bruno
• Brutus
• Carl/Carlos
• Chance
• Chase
• Cooper
• Hank
• Oscar
• Rusty/Russell

But, like I said, most of these are just nicknames that are wonderful on a human child if they have a longer name form. Would any of you like to share names you think sound best fit for pups? C’mon now, I’ll give you a treat if you do!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sebastiane
    Jul 14, 2009 @ 08:45:12

    I’ve always liked Daisy, Poppy, Posey, Lily, Lottie & Daisy. To me, those names don’t sound like dog names, maybe because I’ve known people with those names, but I can see how you might see them as dog names due to their Y ending. Lots of dog names seem to end in Y, probably because lots of dog experts encourage their owners to use those names as they say dog respond more to word ending in long E sounds. I have heard and read that somewhere, not saying it actually works, just what I’ve heard over the years.

    Holden is ok, its nothing that blows my mind away. I do like Mattea, but really dislike the middle name. I don’t think Mattea Angel flows at all. John is a nice classic.

    Reply

  2. Mellowdeeous
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 01:43:48

    I absolutely 100% agree with Molly and Oscar. Oscar in particular. Very nice human name but firmly associated with a particular dog (and dogs in general) for me.

    Lucy, Sophie, Ella and Max are some of the most popular dog names that have constant dual human/doggie connections for me. Nice names though.

    I like the more unexpected dog names such like the following I’ve heard: Gloria (Jack Russell), Jasmine, Megan and Louis (loo-ee). It’s also really fun to see people use names on pets they’d not dare try out on a child e.g Minerva. Going way off topic, sorry.

    Reply

    • Mookie
      Jul 22, 2009 @ 15:45:25

      I always planned on getting two dachshunds in the future, a boy and a girl, and naming them Oscar and Maya — A not-so-subtle but funny way to connect ‘wiener dogs’ to Oscar Meyer wieners!

      Reply

  3. Sebastiane
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 13:38:50

    I have seen many traditional German names, like Oscar, used on German shepherds. I have known many German shepherd Oscars and Fritz, as well as Stanzi and Heidis.

    Reply

    • Mookie
      Jul 22, 2009 @ 15:50:51

      I’ve known a handful of canine Heidis as well — Some German Shepherds, a few dachshunds, and one terrier of some sort.

      Having grown up in a family that adores German Shepherds, I have plenty of names that I associate with the dog before anything else. Zeus, Rocky, Gilo (with a hard G, GEE-low), Vince, Abby… All Shepherds. I’m pretty sure Gilo was the only one with a truly German name.

      Reply

  4. Serena
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 14:08:11

    I really do have to agree with your list. Another one I consider a dog name is Max. I have a half German Shorthair/ Half Weimaraner puppy with that name. Ever since I named him that, I’ve noticed more people with dogs named that. Because of that, I really wouldn’t name a human Max.

    I used to have a German Shepherd named Buddy- not much of a human name, as well!

    Some other “dog” names for me are Abby, Meg, and Sammy, just to name a few of my friends’ dogs with “human” names.

    Usually I just give dogs non-human names like Buddy, Shadow, Tracker, etc.

    Reply

    • Mookie
      Jul 24, 2009 @ 01:44:10

      One of my mother’s friends had a son named Bud, but that wasn’t his real name. I think it was Roy. But on the hush-hush, I wouldn’t be surprised if his nickname came about when his mother was guzzling some alcohol. Y’know… Bud Light! But he’s a good kid. (I really shouldn’t be saying ‘kid’, he’s ten years older than me.)

      Reply

  5. Charlotte Vera
    Jul 25, 2009 @ 16:45:39

    I’ve heard of so many canine “Max”es that it strikes me as odd that the name’s becoming popular for little boys.

    My own dog is Miles, which, unfortunately, is also becoming quite popular for little boys.

    Reply

    • Mookie
      Jul 25, 2009 @ 17:31:11

      That’s funny! My neighbor upstairs has a Chocolate Lab / German Shepherd mix named Miles! (He basically looks all lab, but he’s huge for his age, has a beige nose, and eyes with a Basset Hound-like red rim around them.) He’s absolutely stinkin’ adorable!

      Reply

      • Charlotte Vera
        Jul 25, 2009 @ 21:38:02

        It’s a very good name for a dog. My own Miles is a black Cocker Spaniel.

  6. photoquilty
    Aug 15, 2009 @ 22:00:42

    My dog’s name is Brooklyn. I’m from there. Do you know how upsetting it is that the best dog name ever is now rapidly climbing the charts as a baby girl name? It’s a terrible name for a person; a great name for a dog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

